What Is a License Surcharge?
Surcharges are extra charges that are tacked on to a cost for various reasons.
This means that, if you have been convicted of a
DWI charge, you will be required to pay extra costs to maintain your driver's
license. Under the Driver Responsibility law in Texas, surcharges depend
upon the number of points a driver receives on their driving record within
a three year period of time.
In the case of a DWI conviction, surcharges will automatically be incurred.
You must pay these surcharges in order to maintain your driver's license.
A driver will be notified by mail of their incurred surcharges and will
be expected to pay them within 30 days. If they fail to do so, their license
will be suspended and will remain suspended until the individual pays
the charges in full or establishes a suitable payment plan. This money
is designed to fund various Texas departments and important programs,
including the Texas Comptroller's office, Trauma Center, and the Driver
Consequences of a DWI Conviction in Plano, TX
If you have been convicted of a DWI offense, you are facing some steep
driver's license surcharges. For your
first DWI conviction you will be required to pay a $1,000 surcharge. For a second DWI conviction,
the surcharge is increased to $1,500. Any further DWI conviction has a
surcharge of $2,000 including any earlier surcharge you may be still required
to pay. If you have been convicted of a DWI with a blood alcohol concentration
level of 0.16% or higher, you will be required to pay a driver's license
surcharge of $2,000.
Have you been arrested for DWI? Get the
defense you deserve today!
Contact our firm for help.