Underage DUI Defense Attorney
Protecting Minors Accused of Drinking & Driving
Similar to other states, the legal drinking age in Texas is 21 years old.
This means that any alcohol consumption by an individual under that age
is against the law. Because of this strict policy on alcohol use, there
is a parallel statute pertaining to driving while intoxicated under the
age of 21.
Since the law on the legal age is clear, there is a "zero tolerance"
policy in Texas on the matter of underage DUI. This means that an individual
under the legal age who is found with any traceable amount of alcohol
in his or her bloodstream will face criminal charges.
Adults over the age of 18, but not yet 21, years of age are subject to
prosecution in normal criminal court and will be tried for the alleged
crime as adults. For these individuals, any traced alcohol in their blood
stream at the time of a traffic stop will constitute a criminal charge.
Penalties for Juvenile DUI
Individuals convicted of driving under the influence before their 21st
birthday may face license suspensions and other penalties. A first conviction
can result in a 30 day license suspension, a second offense may result
in a 60 day license suspension, and a third offense can result in a 180
license suspension. Because minors are not allowed to consume alcohol
in the first place, Juvenile DUI is often accompanied by charges that
involve attempting to purchase alcohol, age misrepresentation, alcohol
possession or public intoxication.
Juvenile DUI can result in a year of incarceration and probation for a
period of three to five years. Sometimes, juvenile DUI results in a fine
of $100 to $2,500. Additionally, a young person arrested for DUI may have
his/her car impounded and have to take drug/alcohol education classes.
These classes are provided to create awareness among drivers and to facilitate
safe driving habits in people who have committed traffic infractions or
crimes. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest, an underage
DUI conviction may result in extra fees as well. For instance, if the
driver's car must be impounded or towed, the driver may be responsible
to pay for these services.
In the United States, car accidents are the leading cause of death among
people between the ages of 15 and 20. Statistically, about 28% of 15 to
20 year olds involved in car accidents are reported to have been drinking
before they drove. Additionally, 28.5% of high-school students admit that
they have ridden in a car with an intoxicated underage driver. According
to studies, impaired teenage drivers are far less likely to wear seatbelts,
increasing the likelihood of fatal accidents.
Receive a Case Evaluation from Our Plano DUI Attorney
According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, about
5,000 individuals less than 21 years old are killed every year the United
States as a result of underage drinking. 1,900 of these deaths involve
car accidents. If your child has been accused of drunk driving, contact
an experienced Plano criminal defense attorney from
The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today. We have the experience and practical skill to help you obtain the
favorable case outcome you need.