Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

If I Am Arrested For DWI, Will I Go To Jail?

One of the most common questions we get asked about DWI in Texas is: how severe is the punishment for someone convicted of a DWI? As of right now,deferred adjudication is not an option for someone convicted of DWI for the first time. The Texas legislature, however, is considering a bill that would allow for a first time offender to receive deferred adjudication.

A person who is charged with DWI-1st could be subject to a fine and confinement in county fail. In fact, DWI-1st is a Class B Misdemeanor (as opposed to some states that will just ticket a person for DWI). Thus, a person can be ordered to pay up to a $2,000 fine.

If a person is convicted and sentenced to jail, that person could be sentenced to six months in jail. It is important to note that Texas law requires a minimum of three days in jail (or 72 hours).

In the next blog, we will discuss the options for probation. If you or a loved one have been charged with DWI in Plano, Frisco, or McKinney, contact a Plano DWI lawyer today.

Categories: DWI