Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

What Is Penalty Group 1A?

As we noted in previous blogs, Texas divides controlled substances into five penalty groups. The penalty group that we will discuss today is a flashback to the 1970s: LSD. Lysergic acid diethylamide, or LSD, can cause varied psychological effects, or a "trip" approximately thirty to ninety minutes after taking it. However, the trips can last up to ten to twelve hours.

Though they were used for psychological treatment in the 1960s, the possession of LSD can have severe consequences in Texas. The range of punishment for possession of LSD is determined by number of units in possession. 

Amount Classification Penalty
Fewer than 20 unitsState Jail felony 180 days to 2 years in state jail and/or fine up to 
$10,000

20 to 79 unitsThird degree felony 2 to 10 years in prison and/or fine up to $10,000

80 to 3,999 unitsSecond degree felony 2 to 20 years in prison and/or fine up to $10,000

4,000 to 7,999 unitsFirst degree felony 5 to 99 years in prison and/or fine up to $10,000

8,000 units or moreEnhanced first degree 15 to 99 or life, and a felony fine up to $250,000