Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

DWI Surcharge (Amnesty Program)

The Texas Driver Responsibility Program by the Texas Legislature requires that drives who have a conviction for one of the offenses below must pay a fine every year for three years.  The offenses are listed below:  



Type of Conviction

Surcharge
Per year for 3 years

Driving While Intoxicated  (DWI)- 
1st Offense (Texas or out-of state conviction)

$1,000

DWI- Subsequent Offense (Texas or out-of state conviction)

$1,500

DWI w/blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more (Texas or out-of state conviction)

$2,000

No Insurance

$250

Driving While License Invalid

$250

No Driver License

$100


In January 2011, The Public Safety Commission will allow for nearly 650,000 drivers who have not paid the necessary surcharge penalties will be offered a one-time amnesty.  This amnesty will offer those with convictions for DWI the opportunity to save thousands of dollars.  The amnesty period runs only through April 17,  2011.  This applies to convictions from September 2004 to December 2008.  

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to get out of the vicious cycle of your surcharge responsibility.  If you or a loved one have been convicted of one the offenses and you are currently in default with the surcharge, contact a Plano Criminal Defense Attorney who can assist you with information relating to the amnesty. 

Also, if you have been recently arrested for DWI, please contact a Plano Criminal Defense Attorney to assist your defense.   The consequences of a DWI arrest are very serious and expensive.  Make sure that you are represented by experienced professionals with the proven track record of The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC.  


Categories: Criminal Defense, DWI