Methamphetamines are a major problem in Texas. This high-impact drug can
be created and consumed in a residential kitchen and anyone with the right
ingredients can typically manufacture the substance. The law enforcement
and judges have taken and harder stance against meth possession in recent
years because of the widespread pandemic regarding meth possession. When
you are accused of a drug crime, it is essential that you have a drug
defense attorney on your side.
You don’t want to go to court without the right representation, and
even some criminal defense lawyers do not have an intimate understanding
of the meth possession laws in their state. When you get a
Texas drug defense lawyer on your side, then you can be sure that you have an attorney there to
help who is familiar with the many different drug statutes in the state
If you are charged with possession of meth, your potential penalties will
vary depending on the amount of meth that you had in your possession.
If you have less than one gram, then this is considered a state jail felony.
Those who are charged with this crime can be issued up to two years in
prison and may need to pay a fine up to $10,000. Those who are caught
with between 1 gram and 3.99 grams of methamphetamines can be charged
with a third degree felony. This means that they may serve between two
and ten years in prison and may be forced to pay a $10,000 fine.
Between 4-199 grams of
methamphetamines is a second degree felony and those charged with this crime can be sent
to prison for up to 20 years. Anywhere between 200 and 399 grams of methamphetamines
in possession is a first degree delay and can merit between five and 99
years in prison. Anyone with over 400 grams of methamphetamines in their
possession will be charged with an enhanced 1
st degree felony and will need to serve 10-99 years in prison and handle
a $100,000 fine. If you want more information about methamphetamine crimes
in Texas, then you need to talk to an attorney at the
Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today for more information!