Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

Underage Drinking in the State of Texas

The legal drinking age all across the United States is 21. This means that any young adults or teenagers that try to get ahold of alcohol can be arrested and charged with the crime of underage drinking. Prosecutors don't hesitate to administer punishment to any underage drinkers, so if you are juvenile charged with this crime you will want to hire a local criminal defense attorney to help you with our case immediately. Depending on your situation you may be able to create a viable defense and avoid any convictions associated with your charge.

For example, if you were drinking spiked punch at a party and were unaware that there was alcohol in the beverage, then you may be able to prove that you were not conscious of your crime and don't deserve to be punished. Also, if you became intoxicated due to an adult's encouragement, then the adult may be charged with allowing you to drink and you may avoid being convicted of the crime. All underage drinking cases have to be evaluated on a case-by-case basis, so you will want a lawyer to learn the unique details of your situation and use those to fight for your innocence or a reduced sentence if possible.

In Texas, minors who purchase or consume any alcohol are guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. This means that the minor will probably have to pay a fine that costs up to $500 and may need to take an alcohol awareness class. Also, minors that are charged with the crime can lose their license and may need to perform up to 40 hours of community service. Any individuals who encouraged minors to drink or sold alcohol to a minor can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and be punished by a fine up to $4,000, These offenders can be jailed for up to one year for their crime and will receive an automatic driver's license suspension. Talk to a Plano criminal defense attorney today if you have been charged with underage drinking and want to defend yourself for the court!