If you hit another vehicle and then sped off without stopping to exchange
information with the other driver, then you are a
hit-and-run accident offender. While some people may commit a hit-and-run intentionally, most
drivers do not even realize that they are committing a crime when they
drive away from an accident.
Sometimes, they are simply so nervous that they don’t know what to
do after a crash, and speed off in search of help or in order to get away
from the horrific scene. In other cases a driver may not even know that
he or she hit another car. This is especially true for drivers in large
vehicles such as semi-trucks, because the truck is so large, the driver
may not even feel a jolt when the vehicle hits another and sparks an accident.
If you have been charged with a hit-and-run accident and you were not even
aware that the accident occurred, then you need to demand evidence. As
well, you will want to develop a
defense that will help you to prove to the court that you innocent of your alleged
crime. If you can prove that the offense was committed without any intentions
then you may be able to avoid punishment. In Texas, leaving the scene
of an accident often merits a felony.
Laws Surrounding Hit & Runs
The law states that when a driver is involved in an accident that results
in injury or death, the offender needs to stop immediately and offer aid
to the occupants of the vehicle. The driver also needs to produce a driver’s
license and exchange personal information. Any accidents which involve
damage to an occupied vehicle must be resulted by pulling over to render
aid exchange personal information, and show your driver’s license.
Here are some tips to remember after an accident:
- If you are involved in an accident with an unattended vehicle then you
need to locate the driver or owner and provide contact information or
leave a note in a place such as the front windshield with your contact
- Any time that a driver damages fixtures or highway landscaping, that person
needs to take reasonable steps to contact the owner or person in charge
of the property and provide contact information or show your driver’s license.
- If the damage is more than $1,000 then you will want to file a report with
the law enforcement regarding the accident.
If you do not adhere to these rules then local law enforcement have every
right to arrest you.
Leaving the scene of an accident that involves death or serious injury
is considered a third-degree felony and could land you in prison for two
to ten years. If the injury is not serious, the offense is still a felony
that is punishable by up to one year in a county jail or up to five years
in a state prison.
Those who are charged by either of these offenses can be forced to pay
a $5,000 fine as well. Whenever there is no injury in a hit-and-run accident,
the crime still beings on a Class C Misdemeanor that can include a $500
fine. When the damage on the vehicle is more than $200, it typically means
that the offense will be considered a Class B misdemeanor and will merit
up to six months in a county jail.
Contact a Plano Criminal Defense Attorney Today!
The same penalties also apply when a driver hits a parked car and damages
the vehicle without leaving information or reporting the accident to law
enforcement. If you need more information about hit-and-run offense in
Texas or if you need a
Plano criminal defense lawyer to come to your aid then contact a local attorney today!
Contact us to learn more about your legal options.