Throughout the United States, more and more states are legalizing the use
of marijuana, or are allowing those with medical conditions to smoke the
drug as a part of their prescription. Yet in Texas, marijuana remains
illegal. At present, possession of up to two ounces of marijuana is considered
a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000
fine. People that are deemed non-violent offenders can sometimes qualify
for a drug-court diversion program. This consists of supervision, drug
testing on a frequent basis, and treatment programs.
More and more states are reducing their marijuana penalties because the
drug is so common, but a recent report says that no one should expect
this from Texas. The Texas Public Policy Foundation Center supports legislation
which would make possession of one ounce of marijuana a Class C misdemeanor
that would be punishable by a fine of up to $500. This much lighter sentence
was not considered by the full chamber, but was cleared by a House committee.
Still, Texans should not expect lessened sentences in their state, which
is vehemently against drug use. Because Texas is a border state, drug
use and trafficking is rampant. Therefore, the state has enacted harsh
penalties on all those caught. They hope that this will divert Texans
from getting involved in the drug business.
If you want more information about this, don't hesitate to call an
attorney today. With the right
Texas drug defense lawyer on your side, you may be able to achieve a lesser sentence if you are
caught using or selling
marijuana. Don't hesitate to get a legal professional involved if you want to
avoid serious penalties that are often issued to those using marijuana
or other drugs.