If you were injured at the hands of a
drunk driver, you are not alone. According to the Texas Department of Transportation,
about every 20 minutes, someone is injured or killed in an alcohol-related
crash in Texas.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that
in 2012, more than 10,000 people died in drunk driving accidents –
that’s one person every 51 minutes.
Beyond the fatalities is the financial toll of DWI crashes; it costs society
over $37 billion each year according to the NHTSA.
The truth of the matter is that impairment begins when someone has their
first drink. For most people, all it takes is two or three beers in an
hour to become legally “intoxicated.”
Drunk and Drugged Driving
If you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%, it means that
you’re legally intoxicated. However, under Texas law, a person can
be legally intoxicated or impaired by illicit drugs, prescription drugs,
over-the-counter medications, or even smaller amounts of alcohol regardless of BAC.
What does this mean to DWI accident victims? It means that you could be
hit by an impaired driver, even if their BAC wasn’t quite at .08%,
or you could be hit by an “impaired” driver, even if they
were under the influence of medications designed to treat anxiety, pain,
or sleep problems.
While technically such an impaired driver was not under the influence of
alcohol, if a drug caused them to drive unsafely, they could face DWI
charges, on top of any civil action filed by a victim.
Contact a Plano Personal Injury Lawyer
If you were injured in a drunk driving accident, or by someone who was
driving under the influence of a controlled substance in Plano or Dallas,
we urge you to
contact our firm for help.
At The Zendeh Del Law Firm, we are
A+ Rated by the BBB, and have
over 30 years of combined experience. Let us answer your questions and help you file a claim for the compensation