Most people are well-aware of the fact that a conviction for
driving while intoxicated (DWI) will result in a suspended driver’s license, but what many
Texans do not realize is that conviction for a
drug offense, such as
manufacturing will also lead to an automatic license suspension.
“If I’m convicted of
marijuana possession, will my driver’s license be suspended?” Under
Section 521.372 of the Texas Transportation Code, your driver’s license will be
suspended automatically if you are convicted of:
- Any drug offense,
A non-drug felony offense under
Chapter 481 of the Health and Safety Code, or
- Any offense criminalized under the Controlled Substance Act.
But, what if you don’t have a driver’s license yet? If you
are convicted of a drug offense and you do not have a Texas driver’s
license, the department would not be able to issue you a driver’s
license for six months from the date of the conviction.
For those who have a valid Texas driver’s license at the time of
conviction, their driver’s license suspension would be for 180 days
after the date of their conviction. The 180-day suspension period applies
to how long the defendant must wait to have their license issued for the
first time, or re-issued.
How do I get my license re-instated?
If you are convicted of a drug offense and your driver’s license
is suspended under Sec. 521.372, your license will not be automatically
re-instated once the 180 days are up. Instead, you’ll have to apply
to the department directly to have your license re-instated.
Note: The department
may not reinstate your driver’s license if you were convicted of a drug
offense under Sec. 521.372(a), an offense under the
Controlled Substances Act, and your license was under suspension on the date that you were convicted.
Need a Plano criminal defense lawyer to defend you against drug-related charges?
Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today!