If you’re a minor or an adult in Texas, it’s important that
you understand that the state comes down hard, very hard, on people who provide
alcohol to a minor.
If you’re a minor and you provide alcohol to your friends (who are
also minors), you could get into a lot of trouble if you’re caught.
Same goes for adults. If you’re 21 or older and you provide alcohol
to a minor and the police find out, you could face stiff penalties. Under
Texas law, if a minor or an adult gives alcohol to a minor, they face
the following punishment:
- Class A misdemeanor on their criminal record
- Up to a $4,000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
If you’re 21 or older and you work at a bar, restaurant, nightclub,
grocery store, convenience store, or liquor store and you fail to “card”
a minor and yousell him or her alcohol, you can be arrested, charged with a Class A misdemeanor
and fined up to $4,000, or put in jail for up to one year, or both.
What if the intoxicated minor gets a DWI?
Let’s say you’re over 21 and you let your teenage brother drink
with you and your buddies at your house. Your brother has three beers
and four shots of tequila and he decides to drive a mile to pick up a
couple of his friends to come join the party. On his way, he crashes into
your neighbor’s parked car, totaling it.
Since you’re 21 and let your brother drink at your house, the state
can hold you liable for the damages your 17-year-old brother caused to
your neighbor’s car. Why?
Because, under Texas law, if a person 21 or older knowingly gives alcohol
to a minor (under 18) on a property owned or leased by the adult and the
intoxicated minor causes damage, the adult can be held liable for any
To learn more about the underage drinking laws in Texas,
Need a Plano or Dallas
criminal defense lawyer to defend you in an underage drinking case?
Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today!