While you’re technically an “adult” when you turn 18,
for the purposes of
driving while intoxicated (DWI), you are considered a “minor” if you are under 21 years
of age under Texas law. In fact, each state across the United States has
strict rules against underage drinking and underage DWI respectively.
Texas has specific laws aimed at underage people who drink and drive. If
you are under 21 and are caught drinking and driving in Plano, Dallas,
Ft. Worth, or anywhere else in Texas, you face the following penalties,
according to the Texas Department of Public Safety:
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for one year
- You will have to complete a 12-hour alcohol education class
If a judge says that you must install an ignition interlock device (IID)
and complete community service, your driver’s license may also be
suspended for 90 days. If an IID is ordered by the presiding judge, then
you must obtain a special driver’s license that is issued to people
who must install IIDs.
Other Alcohol Offenses Committed by Teens
DWI is NOT the only alcohol-related offense typically committed by teens.
Minors are frequently caught committing the following offenses, which
lead to driver’s license suspensions. License suspensions are for
30 days on the first offense, 60 days on the second offense, and 180 days
for the third offense.
- Minor purchasing alcohol
- Minor attempting to purchase alcohol
- Minor consuming alcohol
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Minor lying about their age
- Minor drunk in public (public intoxication)
Are you a parent whose teenager was arrested for DWI? Or, was your teenager
caught committing another drug or alcohol-related offense? Or, are you
the one who was arrested for an underage DWI?
Whether you are a concerned parent or the one who was arrested, you need
an experienced Plano DWI attorney fighting in your corner.
Call The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for the help you need!