Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

Multiple DWI in Texas

In Texas and across the nation, driving while intoxicated (DWI), otherwise known as “DUI” is the one offense that’s commonly committed by everyday citizens, which is understandable considering the prevalence of alcohol in American culture.

Unfortunately, it’s difficult for people to gauge just how much alcohol is “too much,” especially since most of us are not educated in the science behind blood alcohol concentration (BAC). It’s this lack of knowledge and understanding about alcohol’s effects on the body that gets people arrested for DWI.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, about every 20 minutes someone is injured or killed in an alcohol-related crash. Due to the high rate of drunk driving crashes, local law enforcement is dedicated to taking drunk drivers off the roads, and punishing them severely.

Under Texas law, you are considered to be “legally intoxicated” and you can be arrested for DWI if you have a BAC of .08% or greater. However, the state can determine that you are intoxicated or impaired by drugs (including prescription drugs), a controlled substance, or alcohol regardless of your BAC.

Additionally, if the police find an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, you can be fined up to $500, regardless if you are a driver or a passenger.

Penalties for DWI in Texas

Like all other states, the penalties for DWI increase with each subsequent offense. The more DWI convictions a person has, the stiffer the penalties.

First DUI Offense

  • One year driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A fine not to exceed $2,000
  • Must pay $1,000 to $2,000 annually to retain driver’s license

Second DUI Offense

  • Up to two years driver’s license suspension
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • Up to $2,000 annual fee for three years to retain driver’s license

Third DUI Offense

  • Up to two years driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 10 years in prison
  • A fine of $10,000 will be imposed
  • Up to $2,000 annual fee to retain driver’s license

Note: Whenever someone has two or more DWI convictions within a five year time period, they are required to install an ignition switch that prevents them from driving their vehicle if there is alcohol in their system.

DWI Defense in Plano & Dallas

If you are facing DWI charges for your first or a subsequent offense, we urge you to contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for a hard-hitting DWI defense. Put our experience to work for you – call now!

Categories: DWI, Multiple DWI