Most of us have been in a car accident before, so we know what it’s
like. We know that even a minor fender bender can cause us to experience
whiplash, neck pain and headaches. Of course, if someone in the car wasn’t
wearing a seatbelt, the injuries can be far worse than a case of whiplash.
Car accidents can be frightening events; they take us by surprise and they
can rattle us. Whether or not you’re the one that’s at-fault
in an accident, you can still experience the “flight or fight”
response after being in a collision.
While speeding away (flight) may seem like the most natural human response,
Texas drivers must not flee the scene of an accident because they have
a legal duty to STOP and follow a specific set of steps under
Sec. 550.021 of the Texas Transportation Code.
Duties following an injury accident under Sec. 550.021:
- STOP your vehicle immediately after the accident.
- If the vehicle is not stopped right at the scene of the accident, return
to the scene of the accident immediately.
- Immediately find out if anyone was injured in the accident, and if so,
if he or she needs aid.
- If the vehicle is in a dangerous location and the vehicle can be driven,
move the vehicle to the closest safe location, away from traffic.
If you are involved in an accident involving bodily injuries or death and
you speed away without rendering aid to those injured, you will face criminal charges.
If someone was killed in the accident and you fled the scene, you face
second degree felony charges, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
If someone was seriously injured and you fled the scene of the accident,
you would face
third degree felony charges, punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
On the other hand, if you fled the scene of an accident that involved property
damage only, you would face
Class B or
Class C charges, depending on the value of property damage under Sec. 550.022
of the Transportation Code.
A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000, or
up to 6 months in jail or both. A Class C misdemeanor is punishable by
a fine not to exceed $500.
Involved in a hit & run accident in Plano?
If you were involved in a
hit and run accident, you could be facing misdemeanor or felony charges based on the
information we provided above. For the aggressive defense representation
contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC to schedule a case evaluation!