When it comes to being involved in a car accident, Texas law imposes a
strict duty upon drivers. Whenever a driver is involved in automobile
accident, they must STOP and immediately determine if anyone involved
in the accident was injured and if they need medical assistance.
If someone was injured, the driver must call 911 or otherwise seek help
for the injured parties, assuming they’re physically capable. Drivers
are also supposed to exchange information with the other driver, such
as their name and address, their vehicle registration, and insurance information.
If Driver B is too injured to exchange identifying information with Driver
A, Driver A can provide his or her information to the police that are
called to the scene of the accident.
Otherwise, if both Driver A and Driver B are too injured to exchange information,
for obvious reasons, they will be transported to a hospital for medical
treatment and those details will be wrapped up at a later date.
To learn more about your duties at the scene of an accident, you can read
Sec. 550.023 of the Texas Transportation Code.
Your Duties After an Injury Accident
Let’s say you are involved in accident where someone else, such as
the other driver or their passengers, or a pedestrian, were injured or
killed. In this situation, you cannot flee the scene of the accident.
If you are in an accident, you are required to STOP, even if the accident
only involved minor property damage.
If you’re involved in an accident and someone else is hurt and you
get nervous and speed away, you can face serious criminal charges. If
you do not comply with the requirements of Sec. 550.021 (stop and render
aid) and someone died in the accident, you would be committing a
felony of the second degree.
If someone was seriously injured and you failed to stop and render aid,
you would be guilty of a
felony of the third degree. On the other hand, if you were involved in an accident involving regular
injuries and you fled the scene, you would face one to five years behind
bars, or a fine not to exceed $5,000, or both.
A hit and run involving
property damage only is prosecuted as a
Class B or C misdemeanor depending on whether the value of the damage to all vehicles was more
or less than $200.
Need a Plano criminal defense attorney to defend hit and run charges?
Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for aggressive defense representation today!