Let Us Evaluate Your Case Se Habla EspaƱol

DWI Charges in Plano, Texas

If you, or someone you love is facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in Plano, Texas, or any of the surrounding areas, you surely have questions about the potential penalties that follow a conviction. Please, continue reading as we provide a brief overview of DWI in Texas.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, about every 20 minutes someone is injured or killed in an alcohol-related crash in Texas. Often, people end up in DWI crashes because they’re not sure of how much is too much. The problem is, impairment begins after a person’s first drink.

A person’s body weight, gender, how much food they’ve recently eaten, and the number of drinks they’ve consumed all affect their body’s ability to metabolize alcohol.

Just two or three beers in one hour can make some people’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reach .08%, making them “legally intoxicated.” Teenagers, smaller people, and women in general need less alcohol to become impaired and subject to a DWI.

Texas’ Law on DWI

In Texas and every other state, it’s against the law for a driver age 21 or older to drive with a BAC of .08% or more. However, a driver can be considered intoxicated if their ability to drive is in any way impaired by drugs or alcohol regardless of their BAC.

First DWI Offense

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • A fine not to exceed $2,000
  • Up to one year driver’s license suspension
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to keep driver’s license

Second DWI Offense

  • Up to one year in jail
  • A fine not to exceed $4,000
  • Up to two year loss of driver’s license
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to keep driver’s license

Third DWI Offense

  • Between 2 and 10 years in prison
  • A maximum fine of $10,000
  • Up to two year loss of driver’s license
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to keep driver’s license

If you drive while intoxicated and you carry passengers that are under the age of 15, you can be charged with child endangerment, a separate offense. Child endangerment is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, up to two years in a state jail, and up to a 6 month license suspension.

Looking for a Plano criminal defense lawyer? Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC to fight your DWI charges. Call now to schedule a case evaluation!