As of this writing, 21 states have decriminalized
marijuana possession offenses, including Colorado, Nevada, California, Nebraska, and Ohio.
Decriminalization basically means that if someone is caught with a small
amount of marijuana, they will not be arrested, and they will not obtain
a criminal record for a first-time offense, providing they had a small
amount of pot for personal use.
Unfortunately, Texas is NOT included in the list of 21 states that have
approved legislation legalizing adult use and possession of marijuana.
In Texas, it is against the law to possess marijuana, even if it’s
a small amount for personal use.
Texas Penalties for Marijuana Possession
In Colorado, possessing one (1) ounce or less of
marijuana incurs no fine and no penalty. In Texas on the other hand, if you possess
one ounce of marijuana, you face misdemeanor charges, up to 6 months in
jail and a fine up to $2,000 – that’s a big difference! Let’s
take a look at the penalties for possessing marijuana in Texas:
2 ounces or less is a
misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail, and a fine not to exceed $2,000.
2 to 4 ounces is a
misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail, and up to a $4,000 fine.
4 ounces to 5 pounds is a
felony, punishable by 180 days to 2 years behind bars, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
If someone simply “gives away” 7 grams or less of marijuana
with no remuneration (payment), they are guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable
by up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine.
If someone sells 7 grams or less of marijuana, it’s a misdemeanor,
punishable by up to one year in jail, and up to a $4,000 fine.
The penalties for selling marijuana increase with the amount. For example,
selling 7 grams to 5 pounds is a felony offense, punishable by 6 months
to 2 years behind bars, and by a fine not to exceed $10,000.
Facing marijuana charges in Plano or Dallas?
Texas has some of the stiffest punishments in the nation and
drug offenses are no exception. If you are facing marijuana charges in Plano,
Dallas, or Fort Worth, we urge you to
contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for an aggressive defense. Don’t let
a marijuana charge ruin your future!