As a licensed driver in Texas, you’re probably well-aware of the
fact that your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked for
driving under the influence of alcohol or
drugs. You may have NOT been aware of the fact that other criminal offenses can
lead to license suspensions, specifically drug-related offenses.
You heard us right. If an individual is convicted of a drug or controlled
substance offense in Texas, his or her driver’s license will be
suspended for 180 days. What’s more, he or she will have to complete a
mandatory 15-hour class for each drug-related conviction with an authorized Drug Education Program.
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, convicted drug offenders
cannot take an online class; they must take the classes in-person.
“What if I don’t have a driver’s license? What will happen
to me then?” If you did not have a driver’s license at the
time of the arrest, you “will be denied the issuance of a driver
license for 180 days,” which is also known as an Order of Prohibition,
according to DPS.
What if I Don’t Complete the Classes?
For starters, the Drug Education Program classes are administered through
the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). If you fail to
complete one of the mandatory 15-hour classes for a conviction, your driver’s
license will be suspended beyond its original 180-day suspension. Your
license will remain revoked until DPS receives the required certificate
of completion and you pay the administrative fee imposed for failing to
complete the Drug Education Program.
“How do I reinstate my license after finishing the required class?”
You will have to do the following: 1) pay a reinstatement fee, 2) obtain
an SR-22 certificate (which has to be maintained for two years), and 3)
you must submit the certificate of completion for the Drug Education Program.
Facing drug-related charges in Plano or Dallas?
Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for the hard-hitting representation you deserve.