Supposing you have your Texas driver’s license, you’re probably
aware that it’s illegal to pass a stopped school bus that is letting
students board or get off the school bus.
Usually, drivers are notified of this process by red, flashing lights and
a STOP sign that is displayed on the side of the bus (meant to alert drivers).
Unfortunately, school districts have realized that drivers are in the habit
of not stopping for school busses. Often, drivers will speed past a stopped
school bus as children are getting on or off the bus.
Whether drivers aren’t aware of the law, or they choose to disobey
it, either way, failing to obey this law places children’s lives
Can I Face Criminal Charges for Passing a School Bus?
In an effort to punish drivers who pass stopped school busses, Texas legislatures
decided to enact Sec. 545.066 of the Texas Transportation Code. Under
this section, when drivers (from either direction) approach a school bus
that is stopped to receive or discharge students, they are required to
STOP their vehicle until:
- The school bus resumes driving
- The bus driver signals the driver to proceed
- The visual signal is turned off
An offense under
Section 545.066 is punishable by a fine ranging from $500 to $1,250. However, passing
a stopped school bus is a
misdemeanor offense, punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000 if it’s the driver’s
second offense within the past five years.
Passing a stopped school bus is a
Class A misdemeanor if the driver causes serious bodily injury to a pedestrian, a bicyclist,
or anyone else. Going further, passing a stopped school bus is a
state jail felony if the driver was previously convicted of causing bodily injury to another
person after passing a stopped school bus.
Need help with a
traffic ticket or
criminal defense case in Plano or Dallas?
Contact our firm for the legal assistance you need!