Are you facing
driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in Plano or Dallas? If so, and this is your first DWI offense,
you probably have questions. Will you lose your driver’s license?
Will you go to jail? How much will the fines be?
Below, we have provided a list of frequently asked questions and answers
about DWI in Texas. We encourage you to continue reading and if you have
further questions or need a DWI defense attorney, don’t hesitate
to contact our firm directly.
What is the legal limit in Texas?
In Texas and across the nation, the legal limit is .08 percent
blood alcohol content (BAC). While it’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC
of .08 percent or above, a driver can be arrested and charged with DWI,
regardless of their BAC as long as their ability to drive safely is impaired by
drugs or alcohol.
Will I go to jail if I’m convicted of DWI?
In Texas, a
first DWI offense is punishable by 3 days to 6 months in jail. A
second DWI is punishable by one month to 12 months in jail. The jail term is longer
for each subsequent DWI conviction. For example, a third DWI can land
you in prison for 2 to 10 years.
Will my license be suspended for DWI?
A first DWI is punishable by up to a one year license suspension, whereas
a second or third DWI is punishable by up to a two years’ license
Will I be ordered to install an Ignition Interlock Device?
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, after a driver has
two or more DWIs within a five-year period, he or she will be required
to install an Ignition Interlock Device, which prevents people from driving
after drinking alcohol.
Will my DWI come up on a background check?
Yes, absolutely. DWI is a criminal offense, so it will come up on background
checks ran by potential employers; it would also come up during Security
Can a DWI affect my child custody case?
Unfortunately, it can. If you’re in the middle of a child custody
battle and you have a recent DWI conviction, your child’s other
parent could argue that you have a drinking problem and you could place
your children at risk. However, if you have an old DWI and it was an isolated
incident, then a family court judge may not be overly concerned.
How much are the fines for a DWI?
In Texas, the fines for DWI are high. A first DWI is punishable by up
to a $2,000 fine. A second DWI is punishable by up to a $4,000 fine, and
a third DWI is punishable by up to a $10,000 fine. What’s more,
for defendants to keep their driver’s license after a DWI, they
have to pay between $1,000 and $2,000 annually for three years.
Searching for a Plano DWI attorney?
Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today!