Are you facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in Plano, Dallas,
or anywhere else in Texas? If so, you may be wondering, “Could I
felony charges?” It depends on the facts of your case, but it is possible.
driving while intoxicated under Section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code is typically a
Class B misdemeanor when it is a first-time offense and nobody was injured or killed. However,
if the driver had a
blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.15 percent or more, then DWI is a
Class A misdemeanor.
Penalties for a simple first-time DWI:
- Up to a $2,000 fine
- Up to six months in jail
- Up to a one year driver’s license suspension
- An annual fee up to $2,000 for three years to keep one’s driver’s license
Now, let’s take a look at when DWI turns into a
felony offense under the
Texas Penal Code.
A third DUI is a
felony offense, punishable by: a $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in prison, up to
a 2-year driver’s license suspension, and an annual fee up to $2,000
to keep one’s driver’s license.
Driving while intoxicated
with a child passenger is a
state jail felony.
Seriously injuring someone else as a result of DWI is charged as
intoxication assault, a
felony of the third degree.
Killing someone else by accident or mistake while driving under the influence
of drugs or alcohol is called
intoxication manslaughter and it’s a
felony of the second degree.
After reading the above information, you should have a good idea if you’re
facing felony DWI charges. In any case, you don’t want to handle
your DWI alone. For a hard-hitting defense, we urge you to contact our
Plano DWI defense firm. Put a top-rated firm on your side!
Call (888) 493-6529 to schedule your initial consultation!