Are you facing drug possession charges in Plano, Texas? If so, you will
be interested in learning the penalties involved in a conviction. In Texas,
drug offenses are outlined under several sections, such as 481.112, 481.113,
481.114, and 481.115 of the
Texas Health and Safety Code.
Under the Texas Health and Safety Code, the penalties for each
drug offense vary depending upon two factors: the type of drug involved, and the quantity
of the drug. Certain drugs have a “higher potential for abuse”
than others, so they are placed into Penalty Group 1, which is the most
serious of all the penalty groups.
What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession?
Possession of a controlled substance is covered under sections 481.115, 481.116, 481.117,
and 481.118 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. Since there are so many
different types of drugs, all of which fall into different penalty groups,
there are too many to list. However, these are the basic penalties for
possessing a controlled substance in Texas.
Possession of a controlled substance:
minimum punishment involves up to six months in jail, or a maximum fine of $2,000, or both.
maximum punishment involves 10 years to life in prison, and a maximum fine of $250,000.
marijuana is criminalized under Section 481.121 of the Texas Health and Safety Code.
Under this section, possessing less than two ounces is a
Class B misdemeanor offense. Possession of more than two ounces, but less than four ounces is a
Class A misdemeanor.
Possession of more than four ounces of marijuana, but less than five pounds is a
state jail felony, whereas possessing more than five pounds but under 50 pounds is a
Are you facing drug charges?
Contact our firm at once to meet with a Plano drug possession attorney!