While drunk and drugged driving are issues that plague every state, Texas has a significant problem with people driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, and this includes lawfully prescribed medications. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, “About every 20 minutes in Texas, someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol.” Clearly, one injury or life every 20 minutes is too much.
Have you ever wondered what happens to people who accidentally kill other people in driving while intoxicated (DWI) crashes in Texas? Are they imprisoned, or do they catch a break because it was an accident? Under Section 49.08 of the Texas Penal Code, taking another person’s life in a DWI accident is downright illegal.
Intoxication Manslaughter is a Felony in Texas
The offense of killing someone while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or a combination of both, is called “intoxication manslaughter.” Intoxication manslaughter under Sec. 49.08 is a felony of the second degree, punishable by:
- 2 to 20 years in prison, or
- Up to a $10,000 fine, or
- A fine and imprisonment.
We’ll be honest – DWI is probably the single most common crime that is committed by everyday citizens who do not have criminal records. Frequently, the people who are arrested and charged with intoxication manslaughter are ordinary men and women with jobs and families depending on them.
Understandably, these individuals have the most to lose upon conviction. Doctors, teachers, stay-at-home parents, factory workers, retail clerks, mechanics, and little league coaches – these are the types of people who accidentally get behind the wheel after having too many drinks. If you are facing DWI charges in Plano or Dallas, how would a conviction impact you and your family?
Whether this is your first-time DWI offense and nobody was hurt, or if you’re facing aggravated penalties because someone was injured or killed, the experienced DWI attorneys at The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC can help. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.