Motorcycles can be loads of fun. They are cost-effective, convenient, and they can be especially useful when you’re trying to weave in and out of traffic. Unfortunately, motorcycles can be extremely dangerous mainly because there’s nothing to protect a rider if they are involved in a crash. Unlike drivers in motor vehicles, riders are not encased in thousands of pounds of steel that protects them.
Since motorcycles lack any real physical protection, motorcycle riders should take preventative measures to protect themselves as much as they possibly can. Such measures include taking a motorcycle safety course, never driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, wearing protective clothing and gear, avoiding speeding, and riding defensively. Of all of these safety measures, one of the most important is to wear a helmet, but are helmets legally-required in Texas?
Are Motorcycle Helmets Mandatory?
Since the motorcycle helmet laws vary from state to state, it’s important to learn about your state’s laws. In Texas, if you’re under the age of 21, you are legally required to wear a helmet whenever you’re riding a motorcycle.
However, if you’re 21 or over, the law is more relaxed. If you’re at least 21 years-of-age, you are allowed to ride without a helmet as long as you have purchased the required insurance and you have successfully completed a safety course.
“Former law required a person be covered with a minimum of $10,000 in health insurance for injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident to be eligible for an exception for the offense of operating or riding a motorcycle without a helmet.
“The law removes that minimum amount. The law requires the Texas Department of Insurance to prescribe a standard proof of health insurance for issuance to persons who are at least 21 years of age and covered by an applicable health insurance plan,” according to the Texas Department of Public Safety. For more information about the health insurance requirements, click here.