The Levels of DUI Prosecution in Texas

The Levels of DUI Prosecution in Texas

If you are convicted of a DUI in Texas, the punishment you will receive will be contingent on whether or not you have already been arrested for a DUI, the conditions of your DUI, your attitude towards your DUI, and whether or not other people were harmed or put in danger as a result of your choice. According to the Texas DMV, you can also be punished for refusing to take a blood and breath test when asked to do so by an officer. This refusal is not contingent on whether or not you are proven guilty of a DUI, so you can be punished and have your license suspended even if you are later declared innocent of driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are over 21 and arrested for a first-time DUI, then chances are that you will have to pay a $2,000 fine and can be jailed for 72 hours up to 180 days. As well, you may have your driver’s license suspended up to one year.

If you are arrested for another DUI with a previous offense already on your record, you will have to pay up to $4,000 in fines and may be jailed for up to one year. You also may have your license suspended for up to two years after you are released from behind bars. A third or subsequent DUI offense is taken very seriously because many people believe that one you have been convicted of three of these offenses you are considered a hazardous driver. You may be forced to spend up to a decade behind bars and will have your driver’s license suspended for up to two years.

All of these offenses change if you are under the age of 21 when you are arrested. This is because teenagers are not permitted for drink, and any sort of consuming of alcohol is illegal. If a minor has any measurable amount of alcohol in his or her blood or breath tests, then that individual can be issued a $500 fine, given up to 40 hours in community service add mandatory attendance to an alcohol awareness class. You may also be forced to lose your license for up to 60 days. You will need to pay the costs for your car impounding and any bail charges as well. If you are under the age of 21 and are arrested with a BAC of 0.08 percent of higher, which is the standard that is held for adults, then you can be issued the same DUI penalties as those that are over 21.

As well, Texas applies serious charges for any driver who has a child in the car when driving under the influence of alcohol. This is considered a felony and if you are a caught your license will be suspended immediately. If you need more information about DUI prosecution in Texas and want to know more about the sentences you will have to fight against in court, and then contact a criminal defense lawyer at the Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC. The attorneys at this firm are here to help you through any DUI crimes that you are dealing with. Whether you arrested in a car, on a bike, on a boat, or in another motor vehicle, you will want a well-learned DUI attorney to come to your aid. At Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC we will represent commercial drivers, underage drivers, or extreme DUI offenders in their cases in addition to those who were arrested with a BAC above 0.08 percent. Don’t settle for less than a hardworking attorney! Contact us today!