Pot Penalties Remain Harsh in Texas

Pot Penalties Remain Harsh in Texas

Throughout the United States, more and more states are legalizing the use of marijuana, or are allowing those with medical conditions to smoke the drug as a part of their prescription. Yet in Texas, marijuana remains illegal. At present, possession of up to two ounces of marijuana is considered a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. People that are deemed non-violent offenders can sometimes qualify for a drug-court diversion program. This consists of supervision, drug testing on a frequent basis, and treatment programs.

More and more states are reducing their marijuana penalties because the drug is so common, but a recent report says that no one should expect this from Texas. The Texas Public Policy Foundation Center supports legislation which would make possession of one ounce of marijuana a Class C misdemeanor that would be punishable by a fine of up to $500. This much lighter sentence was not considered by the full chamber, but was cleared by a House committee.

Still, Texans should not expect lessened sentences in their state, which is vehemently against drug use. Because Texas is a border state, drug use and trafficking is rampant. Therefore, the state has enacted harsh penalties on all those caught. They hope that this will divert Texans from getting involved in the drug business.

If you want more information about this, don't hesitate to call an attorney today. With the right Texas drug defense lawyer on your side, you may be able to achieve a lesser sentence if you are caught using or selling marijuana. Don't hesitate to get a legal professional involved if you want to avoid serious penalties that are often issued to those using marijuana or other drugs.