What Are the Penalties for Intoxication Assault?

What Are the Penalties for Intoxication Assault?

If you were involved in an alcohol-related accident, you are not alone. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, someone is injured or killed in a DWI crash about every 20 minutes in the Lone Star State.

Under Texas law, it’s unlawful to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. In addition to alcohol, you can be arrested for DWI if you are impaired by alcohol or drugs, regardless of your BAC.

If you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol and someone else is seriously injured in a DWI accident, you can be charged with the serious charge of intoxication assault.

Intoxication assault is covered under Section 49.07 of the Texas Penal Code. A person is guilty of this offense if while operating a motor vehicle, watercraft, aircraft, or amusement park ride while intoxicated, he or she causes serious bodily injury to another person.

Intoxication Assault is a Felony in Texas

So, if someone drives under the influence of alcohol or drugs and they seriously injure someone else, they can be charged with intoxication assault – a third degree felony punishable by:

  • 2 to 10 years in prison
  • A fine not to exceed $10,000

The “other” person injured in the crash can be the impaired driver’s passenger, the driver or passenger of another vehicle, a bicyclist, motorcyclist or pedestrian; the victim can be almost anyone.

Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC

Were you recently in a DWI accident where someone else was injured? If you are now facing intoxication assault charges, we urge you to contact our firm to speak with a Plano DWI attorney.

In these situations, the accused is often a good person who simply made a mistake but unfortunately, the consequences of a conviction can be devastating and affect their lives for years to come.

Think, how would a felony conviction affect your family, your friends and your job? Get the help you need by contacting us without delay.