Se Habla Español
Stay Informed & Familiar with Our Firm Criminal Defense, Immigration & Disability News

Penalties for DWI in Texas

Were you recently arrested for driving while intoxicated in Plano, Dallas, or one of the surrounding areas? If so, you need to know the penalties involved with a DWI conviction and you should know something else: a DWI arrest does NOT have to lead to a conviction!

Even if you failed the breath test, it does not mean that you have to be convicted of DWI. Just like any other criminal offense, you are innocent until proven guilty and you have a right to a defense. To help you better understand the consequences of a conviction, we are going to explain the penalties for DWI in the Lone Star State.

You Can Get a DWI Regardless of BAC

In Texas, you can be charged with DWI if you are caught driving while intoxicated with .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC), but you can get a DWI if you drive under the influence of drugs (including prescription drugs) or alcohol regardless of your BAC so long as your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired.

Texas DWI with a Child Passenger

Parents beware, if you are caught driving while intoxicated with a child passenger under the age of 15, you will face an additional charge for endangering a child, which is punishable by:

  • A fine not to exceed $10,000
  • You will lose your driver’s license for 6 months
  • Up to two years in jail

The punishment for DWI in Texas depends on the number of convictions; the penalties increase for each subsequent DWI conviction.

First DWI Offense

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to one year loss of driver’s license
  • A fine not to exceed $2,000
  • Annual fee of up to $2,000 to keep your driver’s license

Second DWI Offense

  • Up to one year in jail
  • You will lose your license for up to two years
  • A fine not to exceed $2,000
  • Up to $2,000 annual fee (for 3 years) to keep your driver’s license

For a third DWI offense, you face a $10,000 fine, up to 10 years in prison, you would lose your driver’s license for up to two years, and you would have to pay an annual fee (for 3 years) up to $2,000 per year to keep your driver’s license.

Under Texas law, if a driver has two or more DWI convictions within a five year period, he or she is required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), which prevents their vehicle from turning on if they have been consuming alcohol.

Arrested for DWI in Dallas or Collin counties?

If you’ve been arrested for DWI in Dallas or Collin counties, don’t hesitate to contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC for an aggressive defense! Call now to schedule your initial consultation.