First Degree Felony Theft Charges in Texas

First Degree Felony Theft Charges in Texas

In Texas, the offense of “theft” is covered under Section 31.03 of the Texas Penal Code. Under this section, a person commits the crime of theft when he or she unlawfully steals property with the intention of depriving the owner of their property.

Taking or appropriating someone else’s property is illegal when it’s taken without the owner’s consent, or when the person accepts the stolen property, knowing that it was stolen by another individual.

Under Texas law, theft can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon the value of the goods stolen. For example, it is a Class C misdemeanor if the property stolen was worth less than $50.00.

On the other hand, it would be a Class B misdemeanor if the stolen property was worth $50 to $499.

When is theft a 1st degree felony?

Can theft be prosecuted as a first degree felony in Texas? Yes, absolutely, but we’re talking about stealing something with a significant value. For example, stealing an expensive vehicle, a lot of money from someone’s safe, valuable antique coins, or a handful of diamond jewelry.

Under Texas law, if the value of the property stolen is worth $200,000 or more, it is a felony of the first degree, punishable by:

  • Life imprisonment or 5 to 99 years in prison
  • Up to a $10,000 fine

Masked Men Steal $1 Million in Drugs

How can someone steal $200k or more worth of goods to be charged with a first degree felony? Well, it’s not as difficult as it sounds. Check out this video posted in the Start-Telegram where masked suspects stole $1 million worth of drugs from the Super Value Pharmacy.

Are you facing theft-related charges in Plano, Dallas or Fort Worth? If so, don’t wait. Contact The Zehdeh Del Law Firm for the aggressive defense representation you need and deserve!