SSDI: Listing of Impairments

SSDI: Listing of Impairments

The Social Security Disability program provides valuable benefits to individuals who are unable to work due to a severe medical condition that is expected to last one year or more, or result in death.

For a disabled worker to receive disability benefits, he or she must have a medical condition that is severe enough that they cannot engage in any meaningful work, and this includes “modified” work – lighter tasks and duties than what they were performing before the condition.

The Social Security Administration (SSA) has created the “Listing of Impairments,” which describes impairments (for each major system in the body) that the SSA considers severe enough that it prevents a worker from doing any kind of work.

According to the SSA, most of the medical conditions listed as impairments are either permanent, or they are expected to result in death. For individuals suffering with other medical conditions, they must show evidence that proves the impairment has lasted or is expected to last at least one year.

The Listing of Impairments is divided into two sections: Part A and Part B. Part A addresses medical conditions that apply to adults 18 and older, whereas the Part B Listing of Impairments is for children who are under the age of 18.

Listing of Impairments Part A (For Adults)

Part A of the Listing of Impairments (adult listings) covers dozens of medical conditions for each major body system. These major body systems, include:

  • Musculoskeletal system (e.g. burns, spine disorders)
  • Special senses and speech (e.g. hearing loss, loss of speech)
  • Respiratory system (e.g. lung transplant, asthma)
  • Cardiovascular system (e.g. chronic heart failure)
  • Digestive system (e.g. chronic liver disease)
  • Genitourinary disorders (e.g. chronic kidney disease)
  • Hematological disorders (New!)
  • Skin disorders (e.g. dermatitis, burns)
  • Endocrine disorders (e.g. adrenal or thyroid gland disorders)
  • Congenital disorders (Non-Mosaic Down Syndrome)
  • Neurological disorders (e.g. epilepsy, brain tumors)
  • Mental disorders (e.g. anxiety-related disorders, personality disorders)
  • Cancer
  • Immune system disorders (e.g. HIV, systemic lupus erythematosus)

If you are suffering with a severe medical condition that has lasted or is expected to last 12 months or longer, it may be on the SSA’s Listing of Impairments Part A.

To learn more about this listing and whether your medical conditions may qualify for disability benefits, contact our Dallas Social Security Disability attorneys.