Se Habla Español
Stay Informed & Familiar with Our Firm Criminal Defense, Immigration & Disability News

Common Questions About DWI

Are you facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges for the first time in Plano or Dallas, Texas? If so, you probably have a lot of questions. Read on as we shed light on some of the most common questions about a drug or alcohol-related DWI in Texas.

1. Can I get a DWI for driving while medicated?

Yes, absolutely. In Texas, it’s against the law to drive while impaired by alcohol, a prescription medication, a controlled substance, or an illegal drug. A person can definitely get a DWI for driving under the influence of Xanax, Oxycodone, Ambien, or any other prescription drug as long as it impairs driving ability.

2. Can I be deported for DWI?

A misdemeanor DWI does not usually lead to removal proceedings, but that doesn’t mean it can’t happen. For example, if you were previously convicted of drug possession, even marijuana, but you were not deported, a DWI can cause an immigration judge to initiate removal proceedings. A drug-related DWI (even a misdemeanor) or a felony DWI involving serious bodily injuries or death can trigger removal proceedings, even for a first offense. It all depends on the nature of the DWI offense and the immigrant’s criminal record.

3. What if my kid was in the car?

If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a child under the age of 15 in your vehicle, you can be charged with child endangerment, a separate offense. Child endangerment is punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000, up to two years behind bars, and by up to a six-month license suspension or revocation.

4. Are there any hidden fees?

If you are convicted of DWI, you will have to pay an annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to keep your Texas driver license.

5. Will I have to install an Ignition Interlock Device?

If you are allowed to obtain a restricted license, you will be authorized to drive a vehicle as long as it is equipped with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Once you pay the required fees, you will receive a restricted interlock license from the Texas Department of Public Safety. To learn more about IIDs, click here.

6. Can I get fired for DWI?

Texas is an at-will employment state. This means that your employer has every right to fire you for a DWI arrest or conviction. It would not be considered discrimination. Learn more about “at-will” employment in this Houston Chronicle article.

Searching for a Plano DWI lawyer? Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today!