Alcohol Education Programs in Texas

Alcohol Education Programs in Texas

Are you facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in Plano, Dallas or anywhere else in Texas? If this is your first offense, you probably have a lot of questions and reasonably so. “Will I lose my license? Will I go to jail? Will I be labeled an alcoholic? Will I have to enroll in a lengthy alcohol education course, even though it was a one-time event?”

A simple first DWI in Texas is typically a misdemeanor offense, punishable by a fine up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, up to a one-year driver’s license suspension, and by an annual fee up to $2,000 to maintain your driver’s license. But that’s not all.

If you are 21 or older and you’re convicted of DWI, you may be required to take one of the following alcohol education courses:

  1. 12-Hour Intervention Program, or
  2. 32-Hour DWI Repeat Offenders.

Note: In regards to alcohol-related offenses, “minors” are considered to be under the age of 21. If a minor is convicted of DWI, he or she will be required to complete the 12-hour alcohol education class.

If you are convicted of DWI and granted probation, you will be required to successfully complete a 12-hour alcohol education class unless the judge presiding over your case waives this requirement. “Completion of the appropriate Alcohol Education Program must be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 180 days from the date of conviction or the driver license will be revoked,” according to DPS.

Reinstating Your Texas Driver License

Before your license can be reissued, you must pay the reinstatement fee, obtain an SR-22 certificate from your auto insurance company, and submit the certificate of completion for the Repeat Offenders’ DWI Drug Education Program (if required) to DPS.

Are you facing DWI charges in Plano or the Greater Dallas Area? If so, contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC to fight your charges and protect your future.

Categories: