Se Habla Español
Stay Informed & Familiar with Our Firm Criminal Defense, Immigration & Disability News

License Suspension for Underage DWI

Young people often need their driver licenses almost, if not as much as their parents. After all, a lot of youth drive themselves to school (sometimes miles away), work, practices, and games or performances. When a high school or college student loses their license for some reason, it can place a heavy burden on their parents who usually have full-time jobs and a busy schedule themselves.

If a parent is not available for rides, the young person can be out of luck if their license is suspended or revoked. Hopefully, a city bus is an option but depending on the young person’s schedule, it may be impractical. So, when a young Texan loses their driver license because of an underage driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction, one of their first questions is, “How long will my license be suspended for?”

DWI for Minors in Texas

You may be 18 or older but for the purposes of DWI, you are considered a “minor” until you reach the age of 21. If you are facing underage DWI charges in Texas and you are convicted, you face the following penalties:

  • Your Texas driver license will be suspended for one year, and
  • You will be required to complete a 12-hour alcohol education class.

Note: If the judge orders you to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and complete community service, you may receive just a 90-day driver license suspension. But if you are ordered to have an IID, you must obtain a special driver license.

You don’t have to be convicted of DWI to lose your license to an alcohol-related offense. If you’re convicted of purchasing alcohol, attempting to purchase alcohol, consuming alcohol, possessing alcohol, lying about your age, or public intoxication, your driver license will be suspended for 30 days upon a first offense, 60 days for a second offense, and 180 days for a third offense.

Facing DWI charges? Contact our Plano DWI defense firm today!