How Do I Get a Motorcycle License in Texas?

How Do I Get a Motorcycle License in Texas?

Are you interested in obtaining a Texas motorcycle license? If so, we understand your interest. Not only are motorcycles fun to ride, but they are cheap on fuel, they get you in and out of traffic with ease and are a lot more economical than a standard passenger vehicle or truck. In this article, we discuss what it takes to acquire a motorcycle license in the Lone Star State.

First, let’s take a look at the requirements for a Class M driver license:

  • You must meet the requirements to obtain a regular driver license
  • You must complete a DPS-approved motorcycle safety course
  • You must provide a motorcycle and a car and driver to follow you during the driving test for your motorcycle license

Can Minors Get a Class M Driver License?

Minors between the ages of 15 and 17 are eligible to apply for a Class M driver license in Texas, however, they have to meet different requirements than adults who are 18 and older. For a minor to obtain a motorcycle license, they will have to do the following:

  • Before enrolling in a motorcycle safety course, they have to complete the 32-hour classroom portion of a driver education course, or
  • Provide a certificate of completion of the 32-hour classroom phase of a driver education course, or
  • Show they have obtained a provisional driver's license.

Note: Minors are not required to complete the behind the wheel portion of a driver education course before they take a motorcycle safety course. Additionally, the actual behind the wheel motorcycle drive test is REQUIRED for minors and cannot be waived. A motorcycle drive test can be waived for individuals who are 18 or older and have completed the motorcycle safety course and already have a valid Class A, B, or C Texas driver license that is unrestricted.

Want to learn more about obtaining a Texas motorcycle license? If so, click here. To file a motorcycle accident claim, contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC.

Categories: