We Can Fight Your DWI Or Traffic Ticket
A conviction for driving while intoxicated carries drastic and long-lasting consequences. Even if you avoid jail, you could face large fines, license suspension and a criminal record that will hamper future employment. Other traffic offenses can also result in loss of driving privileges and huge increases in your car insurance.
Before you pay that traffic ticket or plead guilty to a DWI, call the Zendeh Del Law Firm. Our experienced defense attorney (a former prosecutor) will stand up for your rights and work to limit the consequences. We have successfully represented people of all walks of life in the Dallas and Plano area.
Can you beat a DWI or traffic ticket? Call 888-4-ZEN-LAW to find out how we can help.
Experienced Defense For Drunk Driving Charges
Jason Zendeh Del practices exclusively in criminal defense and brings unique insights as a former state prosecutor. He has defended every DWI scenario, including:
- DWI first offense (.08 blood alcohol content)
- Underage DWI (.02 BAC)
- CDL (commercial driver) DWI (.04 BAC)
- DWID (driving while impaired by drugs)
- Repeat offense DWI
- Aggravating factors such as high BAC or child endangerment
- Breathalyzer refusal (implied consent violation)
- Drunk driving accidents causing bodily injury or death
As a former prosecuting attorney, Jason Zendeh Del knows how to examine the facts of a DWI/DUI arrest for defense opportunities to put you in the best position to dismiss the case or mitigate the penalties.
The Clock Is Ticking On Your Driver’s License
We can challenge your license suspension in an administrative license revocation hearing. You must request an ALR hearing within 15 days of your DWI arrest to have any hope of getting your driving privileges reinstated.
Traffic Citation Or Serious Traffic Offense?
If you were pulled over and cited for a traffic violation, you may dread the time, money and hassle of appearing in court. Many people give up, write out a check and mail it in. By doing so, you are pleading guilty and incurring the immediate and long-term consequences.
Traffic tickets result in points against your driver’s license. Accumulating too many points can result in suspension. Furthermore, some traffic violations are considered criminal offenses, resulting in a criminal record and possible jail time.
You have the right to challenge any traffic offense. Your chances of success are far greater if you are represented by a competent attorney who knows the laws of Texas and the local court systems. Zendeh Del Law Firm has a good track record of getting traffic violations dismissed or reduced, including:
- Speeding tickets
- Reckless driving
- Illegal passing
- Running a red light or traffic signal
- Driving while license suspended
- Driving without a valid license
- Driving without proof of insurance
Find out what we can do to mitigate your traffic ticket or make it go away.
DWI Penalties And Consequences
In the state of Texas, DWI convictions can carry severe penalties, even for a first-time offender:
- First offense: Three to 180 days in jail, fines up to $2,000, license suspension of 90 days to one year
- Second offense: 30 days to one year in jail, fines up to $4,000, license suspension up to two years
- Third offense: Two years in jail, fines up to $10,000, license suspension of 180 days to two years
Aggravating factors may enhance these penalties. For example, a BAC of .15 or higher triggers up to one year in jail plus two years of probation.
If you are hoping to avoid the serious penalties of a DWI conviction, it is imperative that you act quickly. As soon as you have been arrested, the next step should be to enlist the help of a qualified attorney.
How Our DWI Defense Lawyers Can Help You
Let us protect your rights! We can represent you in the following matters:
- ALR Hearings: This is a civil hearing, separate from the criminal DWI proceedings. Upon arrest for DWI, a Texas peace officer will take possession of the driver’s license and issue you a temporary one. At this point, the driver has 15 days to request an ALR hearing if they want to get their license back. If you miss the deadline, your license will be automatically suspended on the 41st day. We can represent you at this hearing to fight for your driving privileges.
- Occupational Driver’s License: Texas drivers can be issued an occupational license even if their regular license has been suspended because of a DWI. Anyone may request this type of license with the county or district court where they reside. This type of license will only be granted to those who can prove their need to drive for their job, education or important household duties. Our lawyers can help you make the case for limited driving privileges. If you have one or more previous DWI convictions, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle before you can drive.
- Felony DWI (third or fourth offense): Three DWI’s within a certain period or a fourth DWI in your lifetime can be charged as a felony offense. A conviction carries mandatory jail or prison time, plus the stigma of a felony criminal record and the loss of gun rights and voting rights.
- DWI With Child Passenger: Charges are more serious if an individual is arrested for driving while intoxicated with a passenger under the age of 15. You may face up to two years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and other serious charges.
- Intoxication Assault: In Texas, if you were arrested for driving while intoxicated and were involved in an accident that caused serious injury to another individual, then you may be facing intoxication assault charges. This is a third-degree felony punishable by two to 10 years in prison. We will make every effort to fight the charges or reduce the punishment.
- Intoxication Manslaughter: Driving under the influence and causing an accident that results in the death of another individual warrants a charge of intoxication manslaughter. This is a second-degree felony punishable by two to 20 years in prison. We are prepared to defend you at trial to avoid a conviction.
- Field Sobriety Tests: Each state has adopted different field sobriety tests commonly used at traffic stops. If an officer pulls you over under suspicion of DWI, they may ask you to complete tests such as the walk and turn test, horizontal gaze nystagmus and the one-leg stand. Our lawyers know how to challenge field sobriety tests as the basis for a DWI arrest.
- Breath And Blood Tests: You may be asked to submit to a breath test upon being pulled over, or you may be arrested and taken to the police station where you will then be asked to submit to a test. Whatever the case, a refusal means that you are in violation of Texas’s “implied consent” law, and you will face automatic license suspension. Our attorneys know how to contest the accuracy and chain of custody of breath and blood test results to cast doubt on the charges against you.
DWI: Frequently Asked Questions
Do I have to submit to a field sobriety test?
Texas law does not require you to take a field sobriety test. A police officer may make it seem like field sobriety testing is mandatory, but legally it is not. However, if you decline to take a field sobriety test, the prosecutor will try to use that against you in court. Keep in mind that being drunk is not the only reason a person could fail a field sobriety test. A physical condition, a disability or simply being very nervous can make it difficult to perform the movements and tasks that field sobriety testing requires. An experienced DWI defense attorney can analyze all the facts in your case to fight back against the prosecution’s claims regarding field sobriety testing.
After a DWI arrest, will I lose my driver’s license?
After a DWI arrest, there are some steps you can take to protect your driver’s license, but you have to act quickly. Your driver’s license will be suspended automatically if you fail a DWI breath test, but you have 15 days to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing to challenge the suspension. IMPORTANT: Your DWI defense lawyer can represent you at the ALR hearing and during your DWI case. The ALR process is separate from the DWI case, and you should act quickly to address your license suspension issues within the 15-day window.
After being convicted of a DWI, am I at risk of losing my job or professional license?
Some professionals arrested for DWI could be more prone to lose their jobs than others. If your job is in the transportation industry or involves operating heavy machinery, you are at higher risk of losing your job. Other professionals at risk include those working with children and the elderly, as well as health care professionals. Depending on your circumstances, you could also face penalties from your relevant professional board or even have your professional license revoked.
Are breathalyzers always accurate?
Breathalyzers are not always accurate. Often this is due to law enforcement not being properly trained to use or maintain the breathalyzers. In fact, if you submitted to a breath test, some of the evidence your lawyer will review involves the breath test results. In Texas, many DWI cases have been thrown out because breathalyzer machines were not properly maintained or calibrated, and there have been many cases of laboratories failing to correctly process chemical tests in DWI cases. Whatever your situation may be, it is crucial that you put an experienced DWI defense lawyer on your side as soon as possible.
Give Yourself A Fighting Chance
Whether you are accused of drunk driving or cited for a traffic violation, the Zendeh Del Law Firm is here to fight for your rights. We are committed to using our skill and resources to challenge the charges or obtain a favorable outcome. There is no substitute for experience when your driver’s license, your freedom and your future hang in the balance.
Call 888-4-ZEN-LAW to schedule a consultation at our offices in Plano or Fort Worth, or use our email form to tell us a few details.