License Suspension for Drug Offenses in Texas

Most people are well-aware of the fact that a conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) will result in a suspended driver’s license, but what many Texans do not realize is that conviction for a drug offense, such as possession, sales, or manufacturing will also lead to an automatic license suspension.

“If I’m convicted of marijuana possession, will my driver’s license be suspended?” Under Section 521.372 of the Texas Transportation Code, your driver’s license will be suspended automatically if you are convicted of:

  • Any drug offense,
  • A non-drug felony offense under Chapter 481 of the Health and Safety Code, or
  • Any offense criminalized under the Controlled Substance Act.

But, what if you don’t have a driver’s license yet? If you are convicted of a drug offense and you do not have a Texas driver’s license, the department would not be able to issue you a driver’s license for six months from the date of the conviction.

For those who have a valid Texas driver’s license at the time of conviction, their driver’s license suspension would be for 180 days after the date of their conviction. The 180-day suspension period applies to how long the defendant must wait to have their license issued for the first time, or re-issued.

How do I get my license re-instated?

If you are convicted of a drug offense and your driver’s license is suspended under Sec. 521.372, your license will not be automatically re-instated once the 180 days are up. Instead, you’ll have to apply to the department directly to have your license re-instated.

Note: The department may not reinstate your driver’s license if you were convicted of a drug offense under Sec. 521.372(a), an offense under the Controlled Substances Act, and your license was under suspension on the date that you were convicted.

Need a Plano criminal defense lawyer to defend you against drug-related charges? Contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today!

Related Posts​

Recent Posts

Practice Area