Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas

As millions of Americans anxiously wait for marijuana possession to be decriminalized in all states, they still have to contend with and obey their state’s marijuana possession laws. And of all the states, Texas is still one of the ones to come down hard on people who possess, sell, cultivate, or give away marijuana.

In Texas, marijuana is NOT decriminalized. You can be over eighteen-years-of-age and possess less than an ounce for personal use, but you’ll still face serious criminal charges. Do the exact same thing in Colorado, Nevada, or California and it’s practically nothing, but you’re not in one of those states – you’re in Texas. So, until the state softens its marijuana legislation, you have to be fully informed of the laws and ensure you abide by them.

Marijuana possession in Texas:

  • Possession of two ounces or less is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and by a maximum fine of $2,000.
  • Possession of two to four ounces is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000.
  • Possession of four ounces to five pounds of marijuana is a felony offense, punishable by 180 days to two years behind bars, and by a maximum fine of $10,000.

Diversion for Marijuana Possession in Collin County

“If I’m convicted of marijuana possession in Collin County, am I eligible for diversion?”

Collin County has a diversion program for certain non-violent offenders. Does marijuana qualify for diversion? Yes, it is one of the offenses that qualify for diversion. If you qualify for diversion, you’re accepted, and you successfully complete the program, you will avoid criminal prosecution and you’ll avoid a criminal conviction – two huge pluses.

Related: Does Collin County Have a Diversion Program for Marijuana?

To learn more about Collin County’s Diversion Program, contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLCto meet with a Plano drug possession lawyer.

Related Posts​

Recent Posts

Practice Area