What is Indecency with a Minor in Texas?

If you have been charged with indecency with a minor in the state of Texas, this means that you may be registered as a sex offender if convicted. According to the Texas penal code, indecency with a minor is sexual contact between a person over the age of 18 and a child that is under the age of 17.

In these situations, there is normally sexual abuse or coercion involved in the case. In some cases, teenagers who are over the age of 14 and are within three years of age of their partner and are in a consensual sexual relationship can avoid prosecution. For example, if a 16 year old girl consents to an amorous relationship with a 19 year old boy then this case would typically avoid prosecution.

At present, Texas is unique in that the state does not permit that homosexual couple use this same loophole in the indecency with a minor charge. Those that are in homosexual relationships and are three years apart where one partner is a minor and the other is an adult can still be charged with indecency, though a bill that is currently making its way by authorities is seeking to change this.

Indecency with a minor does not necessarily need to mean sexual penetration. It can also mean any sort of sexual contact between two individuals with a significant adult-minor age difference. If you have been accused of a sex crime such as indecency with a minor, you are going to want an attorney to assist you in your case. Contact a Plano criminal defense lawyer at the Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC today if you have been accused of indecency with a minor and need a defense attorney to accompany you to your trial!

Related Posts​

Recent Posts

Practice Area