As a licensed driver in Texas, you know all about driving while intoxicated (DWI), or so you thought. You may not realize it, but the state’s drunk driving laws are more expansive than a lot of Texans think.
The state’s drunk and drugged driving laws can be found under Title 10, Chapter 49 of the Texas Penal Code. The ones you’re likely familiar with include:
- Public Intoxication (drunk in public)
- Possession of Alcoholic Beverage in Motor Vehicle (open container)
- Driving While Intoxicated (drunk or drugged driving)
- Intoxication Assault (injuring someone while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol)
- Intoxication Manslaughter (killing someone while drunk driving)
You’re probably very familiar with the above DWI offenses, but there are four other offenses you may not be aware of at all, and these include:
1. Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger: If you drive while intoxicated with a child under the age of 15 in your vehicle, you commit a state jail felony.A state jail felony is punishable by 180 days to two years in jail and by a maximum fine of $10,000.
2. Flying While Intoxicated: It’s illegal to operate an aircraft while intoxicated. If you do, you’ll be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor under Sec. 49.05 of the Texas Penal Code. A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and by a fine not to exceed $2,000.
3. Boating While Intoxicated: Like flying while intoxicated, operating a watercraft while intoxicates is a Class B misdemeanor under Sec. 49.06 of the Penal Code.
4. Assembling or Operating an Amusement Ride While Intoxicated: Under Sec. 49.065 it is a Class B misdemeanor to assemble or operate an amusement park ride while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or both.
Related: Texas DWI Basics
As you can see, Texas comes down hard on people who operate machinery while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you’re facing DWI charges for any of the offenses listed above, contact The Zendeh Del Law Firm, PLLC at once for help.