First DWI in Texas

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, “About every 20 minutes in Texas, someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol.” TxDOT goes on to urge drivers to take responsibility for their actions and to not drink and drive. If you’re like a lot of people, you’re not sure how much alcohol is too much. “Impairment begins with the first drink,” says TxDOT. Of course, your gender, body weight, how much food you’ve eaten, how many drinks you’ve had, and the strength of your drinks all play a role in how well your body handles the alcohol. “Two or three beers in an hour can make some people legally intoxicated,” says TxDOT. If you’re a woman, or if you’re young or have a small body, you can become impaired with less alcohol, according to TxDOT.

Driving While Intoxicated in Texas

Like other states, in Texas you’re considered “legally impaired or intoxicated” when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above .08%. This means that if your BAC is .08%, you can be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). It’s important to note that you can be arrested and charged with DWI for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs if your BAC is below the legal limit. Also, if you’re caught with an open container of alcohol in the vehicle, you can face up to a $500 fine, even if you’re a passenger in the backseat! Penalties for a first DWI in Texas:

  • A fine not to exceed $2,000
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to one year loss of driver’s license
  • Annual fee up to $2,000 for three years to keep your driver’s license

Are you facing DWI charges? If so, contact our firm to set up a consultation with a Plano DWI lawyer. See how our top-rated legal team can help you – contact us today!

Related Posts​

Recent Posts

Practice Area